Ambysto Power

Ambysto Power

How's the battery? What drained it? Why is it awake?

Health and cycles, with a record macOS doesn't keep.

An estimate of power by app, labelled as one.

Every app holding your Mac awake, and a safe way to do it yourself.

Free for macOS · Pro $19.99 one-time

macOS 14+ · Apple Silicon and Intel · Menu bar app

The Ambysto Power Battery tab: 70 percent charge, discharging at 14.8 watts, 4 hours 14 minutes left as macOS estimates, health shown as 91 percent maximum capacity, 312 cycles of the 1,000 Apple rates the battery for, 5712 mAh full charge of 6249 mAh designed, and a charge chart with 24 hour, 7 day and All ranges.

Sample battery data. This screenshot was taken on a Mac without a battery.

Four power questions. Four places to look.

macOS answers each one in a different place, and keeps no history.

Battery health, with a history.

Health is the full-charge capacity divided by the design capacity, next to the cycle count and the maker's rating. macOS keeps no battery history, so Power starts one.

Which apps used the power. An estimate.

One row per app, with its helpers grouped in. Over the last 5 minutes, the last hour, or since you unplugged. The column is headed "estimate" because it is one.

Hot and slow? See when, and who.

The system's thermal level, throttling episodes with the apps that were on top, and read-only sensors.

  • Thermal level. Nominal, fair, serious or critical, as macOS reports it.
  • Episodes. Each period above nominal, with its duration, worst level and the top three apps by estimate.
  • CPU speed limit. Shown only when your Mac reports one. Otherwise "not reported".
  • Sensors. Read from a per-model table of keys. A Mac without a verified table shows "no sensors found" and no number. In this tester build no model's table is verified yet, so expect "no sensors found".
The Thermal tab in a development build: thermal level Normal, CPU speed limit not reported on this Mac, a read-only Sensors card with sample readings, and episodes above normal: none recorded.

Sample sensor readings from a development build. This tester build shows "no sensors found".

Keep it awake. Within limits.

Start a session until you turn it off, or for a duration. Choose whether the display stays on too.

  • Who is keeping this Mac awake. The system-wide list of sleep assertions by app: what kind, since when, and the reason it gave. Read-only, free.
  • One session at a time. One assertion, named "Ambysto Power" with the session's title, released when it ends and when Power quits.
  • RulesPRO Keep awake while an app runs, while a task runs, or in a time window. A rule shows what matches right now before you save it.
  • Told, every time. If a guard rail ends a session, the popover says why and the menu-bar icon is marked until you open it.
The Keep Awake tab: start a session until turned off or for 1 hour with a 'keep the display on too' option, a note that every session stops at 20 percent on battery, if the Mac becomes critically hot, and asks 10 minutes before its 12-hour limit. Below, the Rules card marked Pro and the read-only list of apps keeping this Mac awake.

Three kinds of rule.

Rules run while Power runs. When you save your first rule, Power asks once whether to open at login. The default answer is No.

The New rule sheet with three kinds: while an app runs, while a task runs, and in a time window, an app picker, an unchecked option to also count the app's helper processes, and a checked option to keep the display on too.

Safe by construction.

A Mac that stays awake in a bag runs its battery flat. So every session has guard rails, in Free and in Pro.

Every session ends when

  • The battery reaches 20 %, if you are on battery. Never on the charger.
  • The Mac gets critically hot. The thermal release.
  • 12 hours pass without an answer. Ten minutes before, it asks: "Still working?"
  • Power quits. The request is released.
  • Power hangs. The request carries a timeout of at most 15 minutes, so the system drops it.

Never does

  • Limit or change charging
  • Write to the SMC. Sensors are read-only.
  • Change Energy Saver, Low Power Mode or pmset settings
  • Keep the Mac awake with the lid closed
  • Send a signal to a process, spawn one, or ask for admin rights
  • Send anything off your Mac. No account. No network access of its own.

Free works. Forever.

Every live view and manual keep-awake is free. Pro adds the long memory and what runs on its own.

Free

$0 forever

Measure it, and keep it awake safely.

  • Battery, power by app and thermal, live
  • Manual keep-awake, with display on if you want
  • The list of who is keeping your Mac awake
  • Guard rails, and being told when one ends a session
  • Daily health points, for the life of the install
  • Samples, episodes and app readings, last 7 days
Download free

Pro PRO

$19.99 one-time

Pay once, if Power earns it:

  • Keep-awake rules, with their guard-rail settings
  • History beyond 7 days: samples, episodes and app readings
  • Export: a battery report, and CSV or JSON
  • Alerts as notifications, off until you switch each on

No subscription, no auto-renewal. Free never expires. Full refund within 14 days of purchase. Alerts only inform; they never change anything.

Questions

Which Macs does it run on?

macOS 14 or later. Apple Silicon and Intel. It lives in the menu bar, with a window when you want the full views. A Mac with no battery says so, and the other views still work.

Does it need admin rights?

No. There is no admin password and no helper tool. It reads your own processes in detail. It asks two things only: whether to open at login, when you save your first rule, and for notification permission, when you switch an alert on.

How accurate is "power by app"?

It is an estimate, and it is labelled as one. It ranks apps by their share of measured activity, today from CPU time. It is not watts, it leaves GPU out, and it will not match Activity Monitor's Energy Impact value for value.

Why does it say "no sensors found"?

Sensor readings need a table of keys checked for your Mac's model. Where there is no verified table, Power shows no number rather than guess one. In this tester build no model's table is verified yet, so every Mac shows "no sensors found".

Could it leave my Mac awake in a bag?

Every session stops at 20 % on battery, at a critical thermal level, and at 12 hours unless you answer. The system request also expires within 15 minutes if Power hangs, and is released when Power quits. It never keeps the Mac awake with the lid closed.

Does it change how my Mac charges?

No. It never limits charging, and never changes Energy Saver, Low Power Mode or any sleep setting. The only thing it changes is whether your Mac may idle-sleep, and only while a session or rule you made is on.

Does it delete anything?

Only its own history day files older than 7 days, only in Free, only with no license key stored, and only if Power never kept Pro history on that Mac. Otherwise it hides older data and deletes nothing. The daily health points are never deleted. Settings also has a "Delete history older than 7 days" button, behind a confirmation that lists the files.

Is there a Windows version?

Coming. A native app, built from the same written spec.

Ambysto Power app icon

Know where the battery goes.

Open the disk image and drag Power to Applications. It lives in your menu bar.

Download for macOS

Version 0.1.1 · macOS 14+ · Apple Silicon and Intel · Free